Meeting of the Faculty Senate

Approved Minutes

September 30, 2020


The meeting was called to order at approximately 11:20 a.m.., with FASC Senate President Jim Brown presiding. There are 43 Senators, including one officer and five senators-at-large. Of the 43 voting members, 38 were present.  A quorum was met. 

  • A motion to approve the minutes of February 25, 2020 was made. The motion to approve the minutes with the correction was Voting record: 38 ayes, 0 opposed, 0 abstention
  • Courses and Programs presented by Alex Roche Chair of the APC for approval by the Senate:

Courses presented for approval by APC to Faculty Senate

February 25, 2020

Voting Record


Course #

Course Title

Credit Value

New/ Revision




Political Science


International Environmental Politics






Philosophy & Religion










































































  • Student Life Committee
    • Report out policies of policing in dorms
    • Goals to identify where policy discussions should happen
    • Faculty Senate does not have much power, lies in full Faculty Senate





  • Bylaws Revisions
    • Bylaws get amended at meeting of full faculty
    • Revisions
      • Changing date of revision
      • Updating department names
      • Added secretary (Kelly Esterly) works in collaboration with Faculty Senate, is compensated, and assigned by the Dean’s Office
      • Details of Faculty Senate election are covered in Section 2
      • FASC shall have representation of up to 7 Senators-At-Large
      • Senator’s names should be given to the Dean’s Office by the end of the Spring semester
      • Proposal to change officers to President, President-Elect, Secretary
        • Serve as President-Elect for one year followed by a year of President
      • Expand duties of Officers
        • President-Elect communicates with all the committees of Arts & Sciences and serves on steering committee
        • Secretary should track the number of senators to make sure they are current and correct
      • Faculty Senate may have up to 8 student representatives
      • Create more continuity in leadership and be more precise of what to expect from leadership team
      • Motion presented in support of Faculty Senate endorsing amendments of bylaws at full faculty meeting: Voting record: 38 ayes, 0 opposed, 0 abstention
    • New Business
      • Academic Policy and Course Study Committee Report
      • Bylaws amendments update
      • Volunteers to serve as VP or Secretary



The meeting adjourned at 12:02 p.m.


Present: Ross Allen, Paul Bernstein, Holly Blackford, James Boucher, Kendra Boyd, I-Ming Chiu, Jinglin Fu, Angelica Gonzalez, Anthony Grasso, Julie Griepenburg, Rafey Habib, Osama Hamed, Nicole Karapangiotis, George Kumi, Debashis Kushary, Sara Leshen, Haisheng Li, Joanie Mazelis, Susan Miller, Susan Mokhberi, Tamara Nelson, Adam Okulicz-Kozaryn,  Xingyun Qi, Beth Rabinowitz, Suneeta Ramaswami, Jovanna Rosen, Jillian Sayre, Dan Semenza, Stass Shpanin, Carol Singley, Marion Solesio, Zara Wilkinson, Anthony Wright; Officers: Jim Brown


Absent (Senators): Margery Amdur, Ira Roseman


Explained Absent (Senators): Silvia Perez-Cortez


Optional and noted (Faculty Senators-At-Large and University Senators):


Senators-at-Large: (present) Andrew Abeyta, Rick Demirjian, Bart Everts, Paul Jargowsky


Senators-at-Large: (absent) Nathan Fried


Present (Invited Guests):


Drafted by Kelly Esterly, ________________________________