Meeting of the Faculty Senate

Approved Minutes

December 9, 2020



The meeting was called to order at approximately 11:20 a.m.., with FASC Senate President Jim Brown presiding. There are 43 Senators, including one officer and five senators-at-large. Of the 43 voting members, 40 were present.  A quorum was met. 

  • A motion to approve the minutes of November 18, 2020 was made. The motion to approve the minutes with the correction was Voting record: 40 ayes, 0 opposed, 0 abstention
  • Courses and Programs presented by Alex Roche Chair of the APC for approval by the Senate:

Courses presented for approval by APC to Faculty Senate

October 28, 2020

Voting Record


Course #

Course Title

Credit Value

New/ Revision




Political Science


Politics of Mass Incarceration
















































































  • Budget Process Q&A with Dean Marchitello
    • Goals to broaden base of participation in shared government
    • Budget for FY 20-21 broken down into categories (state operating, undergrad/grad. gift account, endowment account)
    • Budget reduced by 3 million dollars to help reduce deficit
      • Eliminated travel budget
      • Reduced professional services
      • Reduced supply budget
      • Reduced PTL budget by 25%
      • Dean’s office retained money for eliminated expenses
    • Top to bottom review of RCM in place
    • Spending freeze still in place
    • Expenses above $500 need approval from Larry Gaines. Increase has been requested.
    • Hiring freeze still in place
    • 6 vacant TA lines suspended
    • Dean’s Office requesting budget requests for FY 21-22
    • Audit of university shows instructional costs are high
      • Reduce class sizes
      • Increase teaching loads
      • Costs high due to number of full-time faculty not teaching full load, teaching micro classes, too many course releases
      • Mentoring mechanisms are being taken into consideration
      • Funding for recitation for large classes has been implemented
    • Provide support for students partaking in unpaid internships
    • To be discussed at a later date
  • New Business
    • Establish task force of faculty and administrators to assist Dean with current mechanisms



The meeting adjourned at 12:11 p.m.


Present: Ross Allen, Margery Amdur, Paul Bernstein, Holly Blackford, Kendra Boyd, Marie Chevrier, I-Ming Chiu, Jinglin Fu, Anthony Grasso, Julie Griepenburg, Rafey Habib, Osama Hamed, Nicole Karapangiotis, George Kumi, Debashis Kushary, Sara Leshen, Haisheng Li, Joanie Mazelis, Susan Miller, Susan Mokhberi, Tamara Nelson, Adam Okulicz-Kozaryn, Xingyun Qi, Suneeta Ramaswami, Jovanna Rosen, Jillian Sayre, Dan Semenza, Stass Shpanin, Carol Singley, Marion Solesio, Zara Wilkinson, Anthony Wright; Officers: James Boucher, Jim Brown, Beth Rabinowitz


Absent (Senators): Angelica Gonzalez, Ira Roseman,


Explained Absent (Senators): Silvia Perez-Cortez,


Senators-at-Large: (present) Andrew Abeyta, Rick Demirjian, Bart Everts, Nathan Fried, Paul Jargowsky


Senators-at-Large: (absent)


Present (Invited Guests): Alex Roche, Jennifer Thiel


Drafted by Kelly Esterly, ________________________________