Meeting of the Faculty Senate

Approved Minutes

December 10, 2019


The meeting was called to order at approximately 12:45 p.m., with FASC Senate President Jim Brown presiding. There are 43 Senators, including two officers and five senators-at-large. Of the 43 voting members, 31 were present.  A quorum was met. 

  • A motion to approve the minutes of November 26, 2019 was made. The motion to approve the minutes with the correction was Voting record: 31 ayes, 0 opposed, 0 abstention
  • Courses and Programs presented by Alex Roche Chair of the APC for approval by the Senate:



  • New Business
    • Security questions presented:
      • What role do police play on campus?
      • What happens to students when infractions occur?
      • Who is made to feel more/less safe with police presence?
      • Are we making the Camden community feel welcome on campus?
      • Link to daily Rutgers crime log
      • Safety meeting 2/03/20, 4:30-5:30 in West BC.
      • Community Outreach Officer, Ron Trivinia
    • Bi-laws Change
      • Roles of committees within Faculty Senate
      • Not useful in current form
      • Looking to make more flexible
      • Duties and responsibilities of Faculty Senate
      • bylaws-revised-10-2015.pdf
    • Green Resolution Document
      • presented by Student Government Association
      • encourage buildings to be more environmentally friendly, composts on campus, ban single use plastics
      • Presented to Faculty Senate for support of document. Voting record: 31 ayes, 0 opposed, 0 abstention.
      • Discussion to invite SGA to an upcoming Faculty Senate meeting. Voting record: 31 ayes, 0 opposed, 0 abstention.
    • New Business
      • Austerity issues



The meeting adjourned at 1:46 p.m.


Present: Craig Agule, Margery Amdur, Kate Cairns, I-Ming Chiu, Jinglin Fu, Angelica Gonzalez, Julie Griepenburg, Osama Hamed, Aaron Hostetter George Kumi, Sara Leshen, Haisheng, Li, Kris Lindenmeyer, Paul Lisicky, Susan Mokhberi, Lisa Payne, Sylvia Perez-Cortes, Ira Roseman, Amy Savage, Jillian Sayre, Dan Semenza, Stass Shpanin, Carol Singley, Zara Wilkinson; Officers: Jim Brown, Shauna Shames


Absent (Senators): Dan Shain,


Explained Absent (Senators): James Boucher, Courtney Cavanaugh, Michael Hayes, Nathan Link, Susan Miller, Adam Okulicz-Kozaryn, Chinyere Osuji, Beth Rabinowitz, Erin Robinson, Sunil Shende,


Optional and noted (Faculty Senators-At-Large and University Senators):


Senators-at-Large: (present) Bart Everts, Jean-Louis Hippolyte, Paul Jargowsky, Joan Mazelis, Laura Napolitano


Senators-at-Large: (absent)


Present (Invited Guests):


Drafted by Kelly Esterly, ________________________________