Meeting of the Faculty Senate

Approved Minutes

March 25, 2019


The meeting was called to order at approximately 11:27 a.m., with FASC Senate President Julie Still presiding.  There are 36 Senators, including three officers and five senators-at-large. Of the 28 voting members, 20 were present.  A quorum was met. 

  • A motion to approve the minutes of February 25, 2019 was made. The motion to approve the minutes with the correction was Voting record: 18 ayes, 0 opposed, 2 abstentions
  • Courses and Programs presented by Alex Roche Chair of the APC for approval by the Senate:


Courses presented for approval by APC to Faculty Senate

March 25, 2018

Voting Record


Course #

Course Title

Credit Value

New/ Revision




Digital Studies


Digital Youth Cultures








What Is History?







  • Jovin Fernandez, Erica Schwartz, and Patrick Wallace from the Office of Student Involvement ( were present at the meeting to discuss the structure of student organizations and the roles of faculty advisors. There are around 47 clubs on campus with over 210 student members.
  • The Office of Student Involvement offers multiple trainings such as Student Leader Training, Organizational Management Training, Officer Transition Training, and more.
  • Faculty advisors need to be interested in the club subject.
  • Outside speakers have no reviewable processes for public universities. The Office of Student Involvement will provide guidance pertaining to consequences of certain invited speakers.

Steps to becoming a Recognized Student Organization:
The term “recognized” is used when a student organization has submitted a constitution which has been reviewed and approved by the Office of Student Involvement, along with a registration form listing their executive board members including the groups’ advisor.

In order for a group to become an officially recognized student organization at Rutgers University-Camden, the student organization must adhere to the following guidelines and general requirements:
Develop and have approved by the Office of Student Involvement a constitution for the organization.  The organization’s purpose must reflect the mission of Rutgers University and must not duplicate the purpose of any currently recognized student organization.

  • Schedule an interest meeting with Jovin Fernandez, the Coordinator of Student Involvement, to review university and campus policies and begin to develop the organization’s constitution.
  • A minimum of ten students is required to form an organization to provide a strong core group, from which the organization can grow and expand.
  • Register a complete list of the executive board members (president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer) online including the group’s advisor.
  • All new groups are placed on a semester-long probationary period before they are eligible to apply for funding from the Rutgers University-Camden Student Governing Association (RUCSGA). During the probationary period the Office of Student Involvement is looking for groups to help general interest meetings, begin to develop ideas for future events and programs and create a strong foundation for the organization.



The meeting adjourned at 12:13 p.m.


Present: Andrew Abeyta, Craig Agule, James Boucher, Kate Cairns, Julianne Griepenburg, Osama Hamed, Aaron Hostetter, Guy Kortsarz, George Kumi, Haisheng, Li, Rufan Luo, Susan Mokhberi, Silvia Perez Cortes, Beth Rabinowitz, Jillian Sayre, Richard Stansfield; Officers: Julie Still, James Brown, Wayne Glasker


Absent (Senators): Ross Allen, Margery Amdur, Kate Anderson, Joseph Barbarese, Paul Bernstein, Melanie Bowers, Angelica Gonzalez, Michael Hayes, Debashis Kushary, Kirsten Nussbaumer, Amy Savage.


Optional and noted (Faculty Senators-At-Large and University Senators):


Senators-at-Large: (present) Bart Everts, Paul Jargowsky, Joan Mazelis, Laura Napolitano


Senators-at-Large: (absent)  Jean-Louis Hippolyte,  


University Senators:  (all absent) Joseph Barbarese, Babu Dasari, Greg Pardlo, Vacant University Senator position – CCAS.


Present (Invited Guests): Jovin Fernandez, Student Involvement; Erica Schwartz, Student Involvement; Patrick Wallace, Student Affairs; Alex Roche, APC Chair


Drafted by Kelly Esterly, ________________________________

Submitted by Wayne Glasker, Faculty Senate Secretary